THAT BLOODY BAG

WHAT A FUCKING DAY YESTERDAY!

WELL I HAVE TO CONFESS ME AND JORDAN ARE NOT BIG FANS OF BEING FILMED BUT WE ENJOYED HAVING TO TALK ABOUT OUR COLLABORATION WITH PETA. THEN WE WERE SO LATE, AND JORDAN WAS SOOOOO ANNOYINGLY STRESSED THAT WE HAD TO JUMP IN A CAB AND RUN FOR DINNER AT OUR FRIEND’S HOUSE WHERE A VERY GOOD FRIEND OF OURS IS VISITING LONDON FROM L.A. BECAUSE OF FRIEZE ART EXHIBITION.

THE NIGHT WAS GREAT AND WE HAD SO MUCH FUN!

iARA1

I THINK THE REASON WHY ME AND JORDAN ARE VERY HAPPY IS COS ALL THE LOVE WE ARE RECEIVING FROM 8DIX.

I THINK THE SECRET, TO BE HONEST, IS COS WE HAVE NEVER BEEN SO TRUE TO WHAT WE ARE AND WHAT WE STAND FOR.

 

AND HERE I WANNA COME!

THIS MORNING WHEN I CHECKED MY FACEBOOK UPDATES I SAW A PIC VERY CLOSE TO ME.

 

WHEN I WAS 21 I STARTED WORKING FOR A FASHION COMPANY IN MILAN.

I WAS AN INTERN, AS YOU DO, UNPAID AND FULL OF EXPECTATIONS.

I HAD A VERY GOOD FRIEND AT THE TIME WHO WAS WORKING FOR JULIANO FUJIWARA AND ONE DAY, DURING FASHION WEEK, HE CALLED ME AND SAID:

“EHY SORRY FOR SHORT NOTICE BUT I HAVE AN INVITATION FOR THE SHOW TODAY IN 2 HOURS …U WANNA COME?”

 

WHEN U START STUDYING FASHION AND U ARE VERY YOUNG YOU THING THAT A FASHION SHOW IS THE ONLY THING THAT MAKE SENSE IN YOUR LIFE, YOU WOULD KILL TO GO TO SEE ONE, YOU WOULD FLOOD THE BASEMENT ONLY THINKING TO HAVE A STANDING INVITATION AND OMG! I MEAN OMG! WHAT ABOUT THE PICS OUTSIDE BEFORE THE SHOW?!

 

I WAS LIKE THAT. ABSOLUTELY.

 

SO OF COURSE, YOU CAN IMAGINE AS SOON AS MY FRIEND PUT DOWN THE PHONE:

 

PANIC.

woman-Schizophrenia-540x359 

I JUST CHECKED MYSELF QUICKLY…..SHOES…CONVERSE…FINE …SHAME I DIDN’T HAVE MY PRADA ONE…..TROUSERS ..WESTWOOD…YESSSSSSS…..I MEAN ARE U FUCKING KIDDING ME ? STRIPY VINTAGE WESTWOOD TROUSERS….I WIN…..VEST….MMMMM…IT’S ALRIGHT..BIT PUNK AND PIRATE…IT’S ALRIGHT….AND A FLOWERY BANDANA ….YES!!!!

(YES?!??!?!?!? WHAT THE HELL WAS I THINKING ABOUT!!!!)

 

…BUT…BAG?….WHERE IS MY FUCKING BAAAAAG?!

NO BAG.

NO…BAG.

I HAD TO SIT DOWN AND BREATHE AND KEEP MY LEGS UP.

I‘VE BEEN ALWAYS VERY LUCKY WITH MY CREATIVITY SO I RAN LIKE A SQUIRREL HIT BY A CAR EVERYWHERE IN THE STUDIO.

NO BAGS. MY LIFE WAS RUINED, EVERYONE AT THE SHOW WOULD HAVE JUDGED ME AND I SAW CLEARLY IN MY HEAD THE FACE OF MY FRIEND COMPLETELY SHOCKED, LOOKING AT ME WALKING WITHOUT A BAG AT THE SHOW.

 

WAIT.

 

IN THE KITCHEN I SAW SOMETHING FAAAB!

SOMEBODY FROM THE STUDIO BOUGHT LOTS OF BREAD (CARBS?!?!? DURING FASHION WEEK!??!?!?!??) AND LEFT THIS MASSIVE BROWN PAPER BAG ON TOP OF THE KITCHEN TABLE.

I DIDN’T KNOW WHAT I WAS DOING. I JUST GRABBED THE BAG AND COMPLETELY EMPTIED ALL THE BREAD OUT ON THE TABLE, LIKE THOSE WOMEN IN THE MOVIES WHEN THEY ARE TRYING TO FIND THE GUN IN THEIR HANDBAG.

 50384-SHAVERMUG

“OK…I HAVE THE BAG” I THOUGHT, “NOW I NEED TO HAVE ‘A’ BAG”

I JUST GRABBED A THICK MARKER PEN AND I DRAW VERY QUICKLY THE CHANEL LOGO AND SOME TOPSTITCHES LIKE THE FAMOUS QUILTED BAG OF COCO. I RAN TO THE STORAGE ROOM AND CUT HALF A METRE OF THIN CHAIN….”NOW EVERYTHING MAKES SENSE AGAIN I THOUGHT!”

I WENT TO THE SHOW WITH MY PAPER BAG AND ….TO BE HONEST? IT WAS ALRIGHT ….A FEW PEOPLE COMMENTED ON THE BAG AND THAT NIGHT I WENT TO AN AFTERPARTY AND …YES ..MY BAG WAS DOING ALRIGHT.

AT 7AM OF THE DAY AFTER MY FRIEND CALLED ME AND SAID

“DID YOU SEE THE NEWSPAPER”

“MMMM..NO MOTHERFUCKER I WAS SLEEPING”

“YOUR BAG IS EVERYWHERE!”

I JUST JUMPED OUT OF BED AND RAN TO MY FLATMATE SHORT OF BREATH.

“DID…YOU….SEE…THE …PAPERS..??!?!?!”

SHE DIDN’T REPLY. SHE WAS LOOKING AT MY STIFFY SHOCKED…COS I COMPLETELY FORGOT ABOUT THAT MALE MORNING ISSUE COS I WAS TOO EXCITED.

 image1

IT’S TRUE…THAT DAY MY BAG WAS EVERYWHERE.

AND THE PHOTOGRAPHER WHO TOOK THE FAMOUS SHOT MANAGED TO GET MY NUMBER AND CALLED ME ASKING IF IT WAS ALRIGHT TO SEND THE PICS AROUND.

I WENT IN THE STUDIO AND EVERYONE WAS VERY EXCITED TO SEE ME AND THE FAMOUS BAG, COS OF COURSE I WORE IT THE DAY AFTER TOO.

 ……

IT IS VERY INTERESTING HOW ALL THOSE PEOPLE WHO FIRST WERE VERY EXCITED COMPLETELY CHANGED AND STARTED TO BE QUITE FIRM LIKE

“ARE U GONNA WEAR IT EVERYDAY NOW?”

OR

“YOU WERE JUST LUCKY COS IT’S JUST A STUPID IDEA”.

I CAN GO ON AND ON AND ON.

FUCK LUCA, YOU WERE SO YOUNG AT THE TIME AND IT’S ABSOLUTELY A SHAME THAT THOSE PEOPLE MANAGED TO CONVINCE YOU THAT AT THE END, IT WAS A STUPID IDEA.

I WANTED TO DO SOMETHING WITH IT COS PEOPLE WERE ASKING FOR INTERVIEWS AND AT MY WORK THEY BECAME VERY AGAINST THIS IDEA AND THE DREAM PAPER BAG TURNED INTO MY NIGHTMARE.

I LISTENED TO PEOPLE, COS I THOUGHT THEY WERE RIGHT.. A FEW PEOPLE WERE JEALOUS AND I COULDN’T UNDERSTAND THAT.

 

THAT BAG WAS SUCH A STUPID IDEA THAT THE SEASON AFTER KARL LAGERFELD COPIED THE EXACT SHAPE IN LEATHER FOR CHANEL.

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.23.33

THAT BAG WAS ‘SO POINTLESS’ THAT IN THE MONTHS AFTER I SAW IT, POWERLESS AND CREDIT LESS, PRINTED ON THE MOST AMAZING MAGAZINES, INCLUDING VOGUE.AND NO…WAS NOT IN PARIS!

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.20.23

OBVIOUSLY JIL SANDER AND CELINE THOUGHT THE SAME AND HATED THAT ‘STUPID BAG’ SO MUCH TO MAKE A COLLECTION ABOUT IT.

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.23.03

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.19.22

THAT BAG WAS ‘SUCH A NONSENSE’ THAT IF YOU GO IN YOUTUBE THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF TUTORIALS ON HOW TO MAKE YOUR CHANEL BAG FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD, SHOWING THE FAMOUS SHOT AS THE SAMPLE.

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.20.57

THAT BAG WAS ‘SUCH A WASTE OF TIME’ THAT I SAW IT PRINTED TODAY ON A FASHION BOOK WITH THE CAPTION ‘PERSON UNKNOWN’ AND PEOPLE MADE TONS OF COPIES …BUT THIS MAKES ME DEEPLY HAPPY OF PEOPLE DOING THAT.

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.17.55

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.18.59

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.16.22

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.17.24

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.18.19

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.19.09

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.21.33

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.18.28

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.21.53

THAT BAG WAS JUST A ‘NOTHING-TO-DO-WITH-CREATIVITY’ THAT IF YOU GOOGLE SOME OF THE HUNDREDS OF ARTICLES YOU WILL FIND ABOUT IT, YOU WILL SEE THAT THERE IS ALWAYS THIS BIG RESEARCH OF ‘WHO MADE IT?’ AND THEY OPENED A BLOG STILL EXISTING IN ORDER TO CHECK IF YOUR BAG IS FAKE OR NOT…AND GUESS THE NAME OF THE BLOG?!

 Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 16.29.04

I’M FINE WITH THAT AND I’M FINE WITH KARL, AND ACTUALLY FOR ME THIS WAS A VERY IMPORTANT LESSON.

ALWAYS TRUST YOURSELF AND YOUR INSTINCT.

IT’S GOOD TO LISTEN TO PEOPLE BUT IF DOESN’T FEEL RIGHT FOR YOU…REALLY GO STRAIGHT AHEAD WITH YOUR FIRST IDEA.

AND THIS IS WHERE I WANTED TO COME FROM THE BEGINNING.

WE JUST DO WHAT WE WANT, AND THIS MAKES US FEEL HAPPY.

OH! AND THIS IS ME …SAME DAY WHEN THE PIC WAS TAKEN WITH THE ORIGINAL CHANEL PAPER BAG. I HAD NO IDEA WHAT THAT BAG WAS GOING TO CREATE . I WAS JUST TIRED…AND DRUNK.

5129_100999457692_697237692_2525725_7642674_n

One thought on “THAT BLOODY BAG

Leave a Reply

